Our people

Director of Research

Professor Chris Cowell

      

Chris has been the Director of Research for the Sydney Children’s Hospitals Network (SCHN) since 2011, SCHN is the largest children’s tertiary healthcare provider in Australia and is committed to improving the lives of children through research led care.

Chris is driving change within the Research Directorate, guiding the Network towards becoming a leading child health research intensive organisation. It is an exciting era with the 2021-2025 SCHN Research Strategy to be implemented with a focus on the four pillars of innovative research: People, Partnerships, Population & Practice, and Precision Health including development and implementation of novel gene therapies for children with rare genetic disorders and cancer.

Chris’ major focus and contributions to health and medical research are through leadership in developing a research intensive health organisation through research and through the nurturing of effective partnerships with hospitals, independent medical research institutes and academic organisations locally, nationally and internationally.

His own research interests are in prevention of metabolic effects of obesity and optimising bone health. Professor Cowell has >180 peer review publications.

Chris has designed and conducted randomised controlled trials, participates in cohort studies and is currently Co-chief Investigator on a NHMRC-funded Partnership Project, CareTrack Kids, which assesses whether health care for children is delivered according to best evidence and guidelines.

Executive and Strategy

 
Professor Ian Alexander
Associate Director - Laboratory Research
 
ian.alexander@health.nsw.gov.au
 
+61 2 9845 3031

 

 
Dr Toby Trahair
Associate Director - SCH Research
 
toby.trahair@health.nsw.gov.au
 
+61 2 9382 2970

 

 
Georgette Danyal
Associate Director - Research Operations
 
cate.smith1@health.nsw.gov,au
 
+61 2 9845 1115

 

 
Jessica Mathieu
Executive Assistant to the Director of Research 
 

jessica.mathieu@health.nsw.gov.au

 
+61 2 9845 1316

 

Clinical Trials

 
Professor Craig Munns
Clinical Trials Lead - Children's Hospital at Westmead
 
craig.munns@health.nsw.gov.au
 
+61 2 9845 3136

 

 
Dr Laura Fawcett
Clinical Trials Lead - Sydney Children's Hospital, Randwick
 
laura.fawcett@health.nsw.gov.au

 

Research Operations

 
Rebecca Rielly
Research Operations Manager
 
rebecca.rielly@health.nsw.gov.au
 
+61 2 9845 3091

 

 
Lyndsey Smith
Research Operations Officer
 
lyndsey.smith@health.nsw.gov.au
 
+61 2 9845 1115

 

 
Anna Chawa
Research Business Manager
 
anna.chawa@health.nsw.gov.au
 
+61 2 9845 1385

 

Communications & Grants

 
Communications
 
SCHN-ResearchComms@health.nsw.gov.au

 

 
Allison Mathey
Senior Research Administration Officer - Grants
 
SCHN-ResearchGrants@health.nsw.gov.au

 

Clinical Research Support

 
Sharon Falleiro
Manager, Clinical Research Centre (Westmead)
 
sharon.falleiro@health.nsw.gov.au
 
+61 2 9845 1387

 

 
Petrina Hetherington
Manager, Clinical Research Centre (Randwick)
 
petrina.hetherington@health.nsw.gov.au
 
+61 2 9382 5537

 

Research Ethics and Governance

 
Asra Gholami
Executive Officer, Research Ethics
 
SCHN-ethics@health.nsw.gov.au
 
+61 2 9845 3066

 

 
Lucia Smith
Research Governance Manager
 
SCHN-Governance@health.nsw.gov.au
 
+61 2 9845 1272

 

 

General Enquiries

 
     Kids Research, Westmead
 
     schn-research@health.nsw.gov.au
 
     +61 2 9845 1400
   
 
     Kids Research, Randwick
 
schn-schclinicaltrials@health.nsw.gov.au
 
     +61 2 9382 5540