News & events - March 2010

The University of Sydney Medical School Summer Research Scholarship Scheme 2009-2010 Dean’s Prize Seminar

On Wednesday 31st March The Kids Research Institute at the Children’s Hospital at Westmead hosted The University of Sydney Medical School Summer Research Scholarship Scheme 2009-2010 Dean’s Prize Seminar.

The Dean’s Prize Seminar gives young students from the Summer Scholar Scheme an opportunity to present their summer project in front of the Dean. This year nine students were selected to compete for the Dean’s Prize.

The 2010 Dean’s Prize was awarded to Lucia D Wang for her project: A new approach to the prevention of neonatal sudden unexpected death in NSW under the supervision of Professor Heather Jeffery in the School of Public Health

We would also like to congratulate Candy Pang from Kids Research Institute for her project: An analysis of Australian public media (newspapers and television news stories) on HPV vaccination under the supervison of Dr Spring Cooper and Dr Julie Leask at the National Centre for Immunisation Research & Surveillance, who tied second place with Martin Hong for his project: IGFBP-3 glycosylation status: A potential sensor of ER stress under the supervision of Dr Steve Grkovic at the Kolling Institute of Medical Research, Northern Clinical School.

2010 Dean

Pictured in photo (L-R): Candy Pang, Dr Spring Cooper, Lucia Wang, Professor Heather Jeffery, Martin Hong, Prof Sue Firth

Research to Improve the Lives of Children with Nerve and Muscle Disorders

A new initiative will build capacity in paediatric research. Associate Professor Joshua Burns has been jointly appointed to the Faculty of Health Sciences by The University of Sydney and the Institute for Neuroscience and Muscle Research at Kids Research Institute, The Children's Hospital at Westmead. Read more

NHMRC Program Grants to commence in 2011

The Kids Research Institute congratulates Professor Jonathan Craig and his team in the Centre for Kidney Research and School of Public Health at University of Sydney for their success in attaining one of ten NHMRC Program Grants to commence in 2011. Jonathan with his co Chief Investigators, Professors Les Irwig, Glenn Salkeld, Paul Glasziou and Associate Professor Petra Macaskill will receive $8,915,000 over 5 years for the Screening and Test Evaluation Program (STEP): improving the evaluation and use of tests for screening, diagnosis and monitoring in healthcare. This is an amazing achievement and promises to progress a key component of clinical decision making, the use and value of medical tests.

A brief outline of the program follows;
Medical tests - for screening, diagnosis, and monitoring - are often poorly evaluated and poorly used. This program, run by an established team with skills in public health, clinical epidemiology, biostatistics, health economics and behavioural science, addresses the under-researched issues of whether, when and how to use medical tests. The elements of the program follow the sequence in which testing is often done: for screening (early detection), for diagnosis on which to base treatment decisions, and for monitoring the effects of treatment. A common approach throughout is the identification of the benefits and harms of testing and assessing their trade-offs; how benefits weigh up against harms. This research is relevant to all partners in healthcare - consumers, clinicians and policymakers - who currently are being tested or implementing tests without being fully informed about the accuracy and effects of these tests.

Successful NHMRC Scholarships and Fellowships for 2010

The Kids Research Institute would like to congratulate the following young researchers on their magnificent achievements in being awarded highly competitive NHMRC scholarships and Fellowship awards for 2010. Congratulations!

Children's Cancer Research Unit

Dr Yuyan Chen – Australian Based Biomedical Fellowship
Nancy Martin La Rotta– Biomedical Scholarship


Dr Myra Poon – Medical/Dental Scholarship

Nuclear Medicine

Dr Kevin London – Medical/Dental Scholarship

Centre for Kidney Research

Dr Aniruddh Deshpande - Medical/Dental Scholarship

Institute for Neuroscience and Muscle Research

Jennifer Lorenzo - Public Health Scholarship
Frances Lemckert - Biomedical Scholarship